Major announcement, a new Friendster site is coming soon. Part of this will include deleting all your messages, comments, testimonials, fans and groups, even your blogs and photos that you saved and uploaded, effective by May 31, 2011.
To backup your files, Friendster offers an application to backup your files to a third party sites - Flickr or Multiply.
So, backup all your files now.
Showing posts with label social networking. Show all posts
Showing posts with label social networking. Show all posts
Monday, May 9, 2011
Wednesday, April 27, 2011
Friendster: a Social Networking Site Major Announcement
Being a pioneer on social networking, Friendster, which was launched in 2002 will have a major change focusing on its users.
"Our improved site is designed to create new profiles that allow you to connect differently with people and do things differently than other networking sites. Basically, the new site will complement your existing online presence in other social networking sites." [techcrunch.com]
The change will include the deletion of all the users' activities created and uploaded on said social site - meaning all the photos you uploaded will be deleted, but the profile info, friend's list and saved games will retain. This will take effect by May 31, 2011. Friendster offers an application, which will help users to export users' photos and blogs on third party sites, such as Flickr or Multiply.
"Your Friendster account will not be deleted. You will still have the same email login and password in the new Friendster. Also, your list of friends will be preserved, along with your basic profile information. However, all the photos, messages, comments, testimonials, shoutouts, blogs, forums and groups that you may have now will no longer be part of your account by May 31, 2011." [The Friendster Exporter]
It is said that Friendster became most popular in Asia, having 80 percent of 116 million users. But the question is when will Friendster be back? Well, let's just wait and see.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
